• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

Posted (edited)

Written by Joseph Arctic Thunder 

On the evening of November 29, 1980, Granger Taylor 28 years old vanished, seemingly without a trace from his west coast home.

Granger Taylor was a rather eccentric genius.

20200718_133009.thumb.jpg.2f25f7fc2961c0484df322e7872717ff.jpg

Taylor was born on October 7, 1948 and raised in Duncan, Vancouver Island — a logging and fishing community in British Columbia. His friends and neighbors described Granger as having an amazing aptitude for constructing and mechanical devices. 

Granger who lived with his mother and stepfather’s in their wooded Somenos Lake property right up to the day he vanished — was a Grade 8 dropout, who became a self-taught mechanical wizard.

After leaving school he had managed to secure his first job as a mechanic apprenticeship but after just one year, he ventured out on his own and would remain self employed working as a welder, a mechanic and repairing heavy machinery.

Taylor’s list of accomplishments were impressive. He built a single cylinder automobile at just 14 years old, which was exhibited at the Duncan Forest Museum; at 17 he managed to rebuild a bulldozer that more seasoned mechanics had abandoned for being non-repairable. These remarkable achievements were just the tip of the proverbial iceberg.

Granger would often be bored and pushed himself further. He managed to extricate an abandoned locomotive nestled in the wood painstakingly plowing a path to the train and dragging it back onto the property by mechanical means, and then of course repaired the locomotive which was later purchased by the province.

granger_locomotive_salvage.jpg.46559fb6ccf2f89eda3bf7c020f247da.jpg

He obtain his pilot license and acquired an WW2 plane which he refurbish and sold for $20 thousands.